Feliz Dia del Cariño!–Salem

Happy Valentine’s Day! Today was insane. Probably the most insane day of school so far. First of all, I got to wear jeans to school, so I knew the day was going to be great from the start!

Mondays always start with Values class, so we combined the English and Spanish classes and made collages. Suddenly it was time for recess! We got back to class and did some Valentine’s Day mazes and some fun worksheets. Then people started bringing food. On Valentine’s Day the school gives everyone hot dogs, juice, and cupcakes during the second snack time. Then it was time for the chocolate exchange. Unlike the US, where students have to buy valentines for everyone in the class, each student makes a card and we have everyone draw names to see who will be their “secret friend.” It’s kind of like a Secret Santa. Then each kid has to buy a chocolate (less than Q10) to give to the special friend. This should all work perfectly, right? Well, in kindergarten they don’t really get the concept yet, so some of the kids traded chocolates with their friends during the first recess. When we got to the actual exchange, some kids didn’t have anything to give. In the end it all worked out, though. Then it was time for recess number two. We gave them a little extra time to run off the insane amount of sugar they had eaten. Then we came inside, I read them a book, and we took a group picture (because we’re making a card for a girl who is leaving on Friday). And then it was time to go. It went buy SO fast. But don’t worry, I didn’t come away empty handed. I got flowers from one of my students, a hair clip from another, a dinosaur pin from another, TONS of candy, and some little crafts. I’ve come to the realization that it is impossible to hate Valentine’s Day when you work at an elementary school. I got so many hugs and kisses (completely ok to do in Guatemala) and I felt so loved all day. And I came home to flowers and a card from Loren. He started Spanish school today, but I’ll let him tell you about that later. Here’s some pictures of the day, and if I haven’t told you already, HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!

DSCN0243
Values class. They had to cut out things that they liked and hers was full of makeup.

DSCN0246
This one had dresses, shoes, and jewelry.

DSCN0257
One of my Valentines. The kid in the window was supposed to be listening to his teacher.

DSCN0258
And we add another kiddo. This is what happens when the kids find your camera and ask to use it.

DSCN0261
And there’s the photographer stepping into the picture.

DSCN0265
The group picture. 27 kids all (mostly) looking at the camera. A miracle if I ever saw one.

DSCN0268
My flowers from one of the kiddos (the pink ones) and from Loren (the yellow ones).

P.S. If you’re wondering what it looks like in Marquette right now, here’s a picture of my parents in front of the house about a week an a half ago. And it is 57 degrees right now… at midnight…

MQT
They’ll be here soon enough. Smile

One response

  1. buck

    Salem,

    Love the blogs….keep them coming

    February 15, 2011 at 9:19 am

Leave a comment